The Start of a Conversation

I’d like to have a conversation about the inefficiencies of government.

HUGE topic…  I know… but bear with me, please.

I have a feeling this will turn into a series of posts, but let me just start with the basics.

I think that the first sign of a real problem, for me at least, was when I tried to get my drivers license renewed in October 2010.  I know things had been sort of stewing for a while, but this was my first real throw-my-hands-up-in-the-air “ARE YOU INSANE?!?” moment.

I showed up at the DMV with my current drivers license, issued by the state of Florida (where I live), my social security card, and a couple pieces of mail to show proof of residency…  you know, the normal required documentation that we’re all used to.  Not good enough…  I also needed an official stamped birth certificate and my marriage certificate.

I stood there holding an ID card ISSUED BY THAT AGENCY and they’re telling me that’s not good enough.

Insane?  I think so…

Moving ahead til now.  I am currently trying to accomplish a few different goals, goals which really shouldn’t be nearly as difficult as they are turning out to be.  I’m sure I will be detailing those out for you in later posts, but let me just give you the bullet points for the time being.  🙂

(Well known fact about me: I care about kids & crime)

So…  over the next few posts I’d like to discuss a few things, and I would love some input on these issues if anyone is actually reading this and paying attention.

A general idea of what is bothering me??

  • Lack of communication between government agencies.
  • Over-regulation: Is there a benefit?
  • Diminishing rights, loss of privacy, in this country.
  • Common sense (what’s that?!?) solutions to problems.

That’s a start anyway.

More to come…

Much more…

Categories: Adoption, Children & Parenting, Government & Politics | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Start of a Conversation

  1. I’ll be honest, I’m not one to keep up with politics, though given some of the things I’ve heard recently trying to be passed here in IL, that’ll probably change. That being said, I’m interested in knowing their response when you asked why you needed your birth and marriage certificates. Are they afraid you faked it or something? And as far as I can tell, power overrules common sense any day. Sad, but true. *sigh*

  2. I’ve never been one to keep up with politics that well in the past either, but I have been more lately. I never asked why they needed the extra documentation, I just provided it and moved on at the time. Luckily I had it all on hand, but that’s only because we were working on the adoption and all of that documentation was required for that!!

  3. Pingback: Should volunteering really be this difficult? « Real Life, Cats, and Light Bulbs…

Say Something Awesome!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

