Immunization records can get you a social security card?!?

Are immunization records all you need to request a new social security card??  Maybe…  but not always.

If you haven’t read my previous post, “The Quest for Social Security Cards“, you should start there.

Having determined that birth certificates are NOT accepted as identification at the social security office, I set off to obtain one of the documents they claimed would be sufficient…

The Immunization Records.

I admit, these were super easy to get.  I just called the school, they have those records, and the lady I spoke to was more than happy to pull those records, put them in an envelope, and send them home with one of my children.

That was easy!!

So we head back to the social security office.  Trip #2.  My husband went this time (and every time after).  He showed up at the counter with the birth certificates (just in case) and the immunization records.  Plus the applications and his own ID, of course.

He was actually able to order the Social Security card for ONE of our children.  The one who is not adopted.  PARTIAL SUCCESS!!

However, for the child who he adopted, the birth certificate (which shows her current full name and lists him as the father) and the immunization records (which also use her current full name) are NOT good enough.  Because she has changed her name, we are going to need the adoption decree showing the legal name change.

I go back to our records, search our files, and find that somehow this document is missing as well.  I have all of the court documents, letters, new birth certificate, etc…  just that actual adoption decree showing the name change was missing.  It must have run off with that one social security card that was missing as well.

What to do now?

I called the county clerk in the county where the adoption was finalized.  “Please send me the adoption decree??  Please?  Pretty please?!?”

County Clerk: “No!!  All adoption records in this state are SEALED!!  You must write to the chief judge, explain your situation, and ask him nicely to release those records to you!”

Me: “But…  she’s my biological child…  she’s still in my custody…  I didn’t adopt her, I didn’t give her up for adoption, she is still, to this day, my dependent…  can’t I just have those records???”

County Clerk: “No!!!  You have to ask the judge nicely!”

**Sigh**

So, I wrote a nice, polite, professional letter to the chief judge requesting the release of those records.  I included a self-addressed stamped envelope, as requested, to make things as easy and convenient as possible for the clerks office.

I was annoyed when the records arrived and I found that they had NOT used my envelope.

But at least I had the records…  Off to the Social Security Office again!!

Lesson Learned: Hold onto ALL potentially important documents and keep everything up to date!!  I already knew this, and it really was just the two documents that somehow came up missing, but I’m extra super careful now!  I don’t know about you, but I sometimes get overwhelmed trying to keep track of all this stuff…  Do you have a system for organizing all of this information?

(To be continued…)

Categories: Adoption, Children & Parenting, Government & Politics | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Immunization records can get you a social security card?!?

  1. Pingback: The Quest for Social Security Cards « Real Life, Cats, and Light Bulbs…

Say Something Awesome!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

