Simple Living Manifesto: The List

I found this great article about simplifying your life.

My life is in need of serious simplification.  I’ve been so stressed and overwhelmed lately.  Too much to do and not enough hours in the day to get it all done.  Lately I have felt a need to get rid of the clutter, learn to be more organized, eliminate the unnecessary, and somehow find time in every single one of my ridiculously busy days to stop and smell the roses.

Nobody says, on their death bed, “I wish I had dusted more often…”

I want to make the most of my time and live the best life I can so that when it’s my time to go I can leave this world with no regrets.

To that end, I’m going to work my way through this list of “72 ideas to simplify your life”, and post about each of the steps I take.  My hope is that many of these efforts will become life-long habits and lead to a more efficient, more fulfilling life.  Every now and then I will come across an item that I can’t, or won’t, do… and I’ll post it with an explanation of why that item makes no sense for me.

Jumping right in:  It only seems logical to start at #1:

  1. Make a list of your top 4-5 important things. What’s most important to you? What do you value most? What 4-5 things do you most want to do in your life? Simplifying starts with these priorities, as you are trying to make room in your life so you have more time for these things.

Right now, the most important things in my life are:

  1. My Family. Spending time with them, going places and doing things with them, taking pictures to hold on to those memories.  I really only have a few more years with my children before they are all adults and off on their own, it’s important for me to enjoy this time and make an effort to continue to be a part of their lives even after they have left my home.
  2. Blogging.  Writing is my release.  It’s how I organize my thoughts, it’s how I vent, it’s how I de-stress.  Keeping up with my blog will have a positive effect on my overall mental health and attitude.
  3. Health & Fitness.  I am not a fitness fanatic, but I do like being in reasonably good shape.  I like being able to keep up with my kids when we go places and do things together.  I like feeling confident and comfortable in my clothes, and I get frustrated and, frankly, miserable when I don’t.  And I want for my family to be healthy as well.
  4. Finances.  I want to be able to buy a house in the near future, but with our credit the way it is it will take a lot of work.  I want to focus on cleaning up our old debt and building good credit so that we can get the credit we need to build a solid future for ourselves, even into retirement.
  5. Efficiency.  I want to learn to be more organized and efficient in how I take care of those things I have to do so that I can be free to enjoy as much free time as possible without feeling guilty.
Categories: All About Ellen Cabot | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Simple Living Manifesto: The List

  1. Pingback: The most inconsistent person in the universe. | Real Life, Cats, and Light Bulbs...

Say Something Awesome!

Blog at WordPress.com.

